By Way of Absence

I had to find myself

Back in the desert

So I hung around

‘Til the skies turned gray

Suicide in the rain

City streets wash

What remains

What remains?

I found myself underground

With commuters and the homeless

Restless travelers’ destinations

Built on broken dreams

Suicide in the rain

City streets wash

What remains

What remains?

I have to lose myself

Stand still in a storm

While flood waters rise

My illusion sinks

Suicide in the rain

City streets wash

What remains

What remains?

14 thoughts on “By Way of Absence

  1. Ditrie Sanchez

    YOU’RE BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ I’ve been waiting FOREVER. No suicide allowed. Okay?

    Breathtaking photograph, as usual, and very song-like poem. I also like the play on punctuation on the “what remains/ what remains?” lines. Good to read your work again.

    Reply
  2. Evelyn

    I knew you’d be back.
    I never gave up.
    I missed you dearly…
    Love the repetition in this and the picture is amazing…
    “I have to lose myself
    Stand still in a storm
    While flood waters rise
    My illusion sinks”
    very clear vision here…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

