Must Love Die For It To End? (Drabble)

The first time I died was the recognition of how complete your surrender was while in his arms.
What is it to dance if not a manifestation of our deepest yearning to trust and to be trusted? What of those we are unable to dance with – what do we whisper about them in our hearts when the song comes to an end? Why is it we thank them with counterfeit smiles then shoulder past them? There is no real judgement, is there? Only power struggle.
I had hated you for opening that door to my understanding. Now I thank you.

4 thoughts on “Must Love Die For It To End? (Drabble)

  1. Kay Camden

    I need to ponder this one for a while. There’s something very darkly romantic about it, I think.
    I did have to stop and read the first sentence a few times. Something about it can’t settle in my brain properly. It’s too wound up. It needs to relax. Maybe it needs to be two sentences, or reversed? Is it passive? I don’t know.
    I’d say:
    The first time I died was when I recognized how complete your surrender was while in his arms.
    No. Need to get rid of the two “was”es. How about:
    The first time I died, I recognized how complete your surrender was while in his arms.
    Hmm. Or maybe:
    The first time I died, I recognized the completeness of your surrender while in his arms.
    Or:
    I recognized the completeness of your surrender while in his arms–that was the first time I died.
    Okay I’ll stop. I could do this all day.

    Reply
  2. Madison Woods

    Very powerful. I think the narrator’s rose-colored glasses have been smashed beyond repair. But to be thankful for it…that is where the power originates. Awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

