To Nothing Special, With Love – Part Four

Evelyn started To Nothing Special, With Love.
I did a continuation To Nothing Special, With Love – A Continuation
Evelyn responded with To Nothing Special, With Love – Part Three
And now I continue with Part Four…

To Nothing Special, With Love – Part Four

Leslie had finally collapsed just before dawn. She was lost.
Unable to feel her legs anymore, she dropped to the scented blanket of pine needles covering the ground and stared up at the dark canopy of swishing treetops. The night had passed in an adrenalized blur of twists and turns during which she lost and found herself like a river does on its way to the ocean. At last, Leslie concluded that her meeting with the dark man earlier in the night had been a dream, a madness, and that she was finally awake to the embarrassing reality of her situation. Hungry, thirsty, yet too exhausted to care, she fell asleep.

“Wake up.”
Leslie heard his voice through the cotton wool.
“Hey, lady, wake up.”
She remembered the strange force that drew her into the woods, the shadowed man and the promise of love, a night spent abandoning herself.
Leslie opened her eyes and sat up as quickly as she could. He leant in close with a smile, “Good morning, sleeping beauty.”
Leslie bit her bottom lip with excitement. Fairy tales were not meant to be real, but there he was; tall, dark and handsome. She jumped to her feet and threw her arms around his neck. She rested her head on his broad chest then let out a squeal of delight when she heard his powerful heartbeat explode in her skull.
“Erm, sorry M’am, I didn’t mean to disturb you, but these woods are dangerous. I thought I’d wake you so you can keep moving along,” he said, gently pushing her away from himself.
“I was lost,” she said, “but now I have found. I know you don’t recognize me, but you will. I am Leslie. I am your love.”
“I’m Lewis,” he said. “Lew. Did you fall and hurt yourself?”
“No, no, you don’t understand. I met the dark man last night, who told me to search for you, my one true love. He said that I’d find you here. That you need me, but don’t know it yet. And here you are.”
“Really,” Lew said, both eyebrows raised. “The dark man, eh? Tell me, Leslie, are you from Greenwood Clinic?”
“Where? No, I’m from Silverstream. You know, the town just over… there?”
“Alright. Okay,” said Lew. “Leslie, why don’t you come back to my place in the woods so we can check out you’re not hurt or anything? Then if you’re okay, I can take you back home.”
“Lead the way,” Leslie grinned.

22 thoughts on “To Nothing Special, With Love – Part Four

  1. Kay Camden

    I love the personality you’ve established for her–and due to this, and her trusting nature, the stakes are high. We want her to be okay, but we fear for her.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: To Nothing Special, With Love: 8th « Filling a Hole

  3. Pingback: To Nothing Special, With Love – Part 7 | Short Stories

  4. Pingback: To Nothing Special, With Love: 6 « Filling a Hole

  5. Madison Woods

    Leslie is so naive and I hope y’all keep her that way and find a way to let her down easy if this isn’t what she thinks it is in the end. LOL. I’m assuming the Greenwood clinic is a mental hospital.

    Reply
    1. Evelyn

      Ive been bugging you to join Mike!
      Next time, I will be less subtle and demand.
      Hey, we need to continue Two Bridges too!

      Reply
  6. Pingback: To Nothing Special, With Love – Part 5 | Short Stories

  7. Janece

    oh, this is very nice! I haven’t read the prior chapters yet, and I assume it’s some sort of “he said/she said” where you build off of each other’s work?? Wonderful!

    Hope you are feeling better 🙂

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Not quite ‘he said/she said’. More like ‘I write/youwrite’, lol.
      Thanks for the read and comments. Should be better in a day or two.

      Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Matthew. I appreciate your time and effort. I’m really hoping Evelyn is inspired once again to pick up the next section and run with it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

