An Alcoholic Mother – Voice Week Day 4

This is my day four entry for Voice Week over at BeKindReWrite.
It is a five-day writing challenge and you can check it out here: Voice Week HQ
I can recommend reading the work of other participants. There is a growing body of fantastic writing and writers.

AN ALCOHOLIC MOTHER

Voice of Ex-husband
Look, I know this sounds unforgivable.
I found religion. I gave my life to Jesus and when I begged her to do the same she told me I was mad. We split up.
I wanted to take X (name erased to protect individual’s identity) with me, but the missionary work meant I would live in dangerous places. Ethiopia. Iraq. Bosnia. I felt I could do more for the thousands of kids there than my own at home.
As for her, what can I say? She drank more after I left. Never could face up to her problems. Until now, right? Well, good luck to her, I guess.

11 thoughts on “An Alcoholic Mother – Voice Week Day 4

  1. otakufool

    😦 he’s so detached for an ex-husband! I don’t like him at all! But great job of portraying his character! Complicated man, indeed.

    Reply
  2. Kay Camden

    This is a sad and honest portrayal of human nature. What strikes me is how easily he makes this situation about himself, it’s almost like he’s talking himself into it, like finding religion and giving his life to Jesus is a more worthy cause than helping the woman he married overcome a devastating illness. It’s the ultimate cop-out. But from the way he talks, it’s almost defensive. He knows he’s wrong. He’ll just never admit it.

    Reply
  3. Mike

    Another great piece of writing Andrew.
    Sounds to me that this guy finding God was his excuse to get out. I could almost hear him saying, “I didn’t want to abandon my family but God made me.” Then another great excuse, I wanted to take my son but felt I could do more for the thousands of other kids during his missionary work. Comes across to me as pompous and pious, only really interested in himself and merely paying lip service to his family responsibilities. Are you getting the feeling that I don’t like him!
    As Stephanie says there is a real sarcasm to his wishes of good luck to his ex wife, “Well god luck to her, I guess.”
    Thanks for a great read – looking forward to day 5.

    Reply
  4. bekindrewrite

    Interesting how he starts out apologizing, then makes excuses, then ends with an almost sarcastic insincerity. It almost felt bitter to me. His dedication to missionary work is completely misguided, either his own pride in wanting to appear holy, or low self-esteem thinking he has to do something huge to make up for his past. It’s so sad to see him devalue himself as a father. He just doesn’t get how important it is so be there for his own son. Thanks to that, he can be reasonably sure his son won’t find God any time soon. *Sigh* Makes me sad – which means it’s good.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: An Alcoholic Mother – Voice Week Day 4 | Scribbla « Voice Week HQ

  6. writingsprint

    Very cool. I’ve met a lot of priests in my time, many who have done missionary work, and while the service doesn’t always trump everything, it’s definitely in the top 3 of their priorities. They spoke in the same urgent, committed tone. I’m hearing a man’s voice, maybe middle 30s?

    Reply
  7. Billie Jo Woods

    Interesting soul, this one wants to help people but doesn’t follow the old adage that charity starts at home. Can’t wait to see the last puzzle piece.

    Reply
  8. Janece

    Oh. Oh wow. This piece really pushed my buttons on SO many levels. First, it completely threw me for a loop, it was so unexpected – GREAT job for adding this twist! This voice is at once guilty and self-righteous in my ‘ears’…with a weird lack of compassion for his ex-wife and mother of his children. I could go on here, but as much as I dislike him, I also get him. He gave up. Got redeemed, and started a new life leaving the (his) ‘failures’ behind. Most excellent writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

