An Alcoholic Mother – Voice Week Day 3

This is my day three entry for Voice Week over at BeKindReWrite.
It is a five-day writing challenge and you can check it out over here: Voice Week HQ
I can recommend reading the work of other participants. There is a lot of incredible material.
For the sake of clarity in the title, please note that today’s character is not the alcoholic mother, but the mother of the alcoholic mother. I repeat, this is NOT the alcoholic mother’s voice.

AN ALCOHOLIC MOTHER

Voice Of Mother
It’s about bloody time she sorted herself out.
I always said her father’s spoiling her like that would come to no good. You tell me how a woman with a grown son takes so long to realise she’s a failure.
And that good for nothing husband of hers? Pfugh! My husband, God rest his soul, would never have stood for such over-indulging in self-pity.
That poor, dear son of hers. My grandson. Of course I did my best to shelter him from her in their so-called home, but I could only do so much. Oh, how I wish I could see that boy again. You know, I hear he’s back visiting her now that she’s seeking help. It’s so bloody unfair.

11 thoughts on “An Alcoholic Mother – Voice Week Day 3

  1. Kay Camden

    Yes I also hear a lot of guilt here, and a self-righteous tone that people take on when things become too much for them and they can’t take their ego out of the picture. I can see this woman gossiping over her fence with the neighbor. Well done.

    Reply
  2. robinhawke

    She definitely makes one feel uneasy. I am probably bringing too much history from prior writes, but I’m having a tough time reconciling a preacher with a good-for-nothing–even if he’s bad at marriage, his vocation argues he’s good for an hour on Sundays. Hope to hear his voice.

    Robin

    Reply
  3. Mike

    A complete contrast to the first two, younger voices. Here we have the supposed voice of authority. Being the alcoholics mother seems to give her the right to apportion blame as long as none of it is aimed at her. Her father spoilt her, the husband was no good and of course she tried to hep the poor grandson but ……
    As you listen to this voice you can begin to understand why her daughter turned to drink.
    Another great read – you’ve left me with a clear picture of this woman in my head and I don’t like her!
    Looking forward to the next voice.

    Reply
  4. Craig Towsley

    I could totally see this busybody old woman. Meddling, harsh – probably a secret alcoholic herself, but a high functioning one.
    There was something that jarred me though – “her father’s spoiling her” vs “never have stood for such over-indulging…” Maybe it’s just that I haven’t finished a coffee yet, but these two ideas seemed slightly contradictory to me.

    Otherwise – very clear voice, very easy to imagine her.

    Reply
  5. Madison Woods

    I think part of the reason the daughter is an alcoholic is because she grew up with such a cold and detached mother. People who refuse to accept personal responsibility sure love to point fingers. Great work, scribbla – it definitely brings out strong emotion.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: An Alcoholic Mother – Voice Week Day 3 | Scribbla « Voice Week HQ

  7. bekindrewrite

    I definitely get a bad taste in my mouth from this woman, but I also wonder how right she might be – indulging in self-pity can certainly lead down dark roads. Her jealousy over the attention of her apparently perfect grandson is interesting–actually, I’m loving how you’ve not only shown different views of the mom, but of the son as well.

    Good choice – a fascinating new angle and a strong voice.

    Reply
  8. writingsprint

    This voice is like a splash of cold water compared to the first two. Great job. The dash of softness when she talks about her grandson is very believeable, especially the way it reverts to its edge when she starts talking about the alcoholic mother. And Janece, great catch on pointing the finger at her husband — though it’s interesting that she says her husband wouldn’t have tolerated such self pity. Is the mother a stepdaughter?

    Reply
  9. Janece

    Ah, interesting! The mother completely distances herself from the daughter’s problems, and points the finger of blame at her husband. The anger in and of itself could be a sign of guilt on her part. Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

