Mr & Mrs Smith – Drabble for Inspiration Monday

Inspiration Monday: don’t run is the theme for this week. My chosen prompt The Party Ended Early. Be sure to check out the amazing writers over there and join in once you feel inspired.

Mr. & Mrs Smith
The party ended early.
Nancy drove. Marty thanked God for a tee totalling wife.
“What was that all about?” she asked.
“I have no idea,” Marty said.
“They used to be so in love. We were all jealous.”
“I know.”
“Did you notice they way she looked at him when he dropped his glass?”
“Yeah. Stu’s always been like that though.”
“Then why’s she put up with it for so long?”
“I don’t know, honey.”
“Are we still okay?”
“Huh?”
“We’re not…”
“Oh, no. Aren’t we?” Marty looked at her.
“No, no.”
They were silent.
“Turn left here.”
“Yes, dear.”

12 thoughts on “Mr & Mrs Smith – Drabble for Inspiration Monday

  1. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: the fault in our stars « BeKindRewrite

  2. jenna

    I love this. I really enjoy your pieces that are solely conversational. They always say so much. This is a short piece with such power.

    Reply
  3. Madison Woods

    This left me feeling bereft in the way I might have felt had I been taking part in that syncopated conversation.

    Reply
  4. Louise Jaques

    What an amazing passage: “What was that all about?” she asked.
    “I have no idea,” Marty said.
    “They used to be so in love. We were all jealous.”
    “I know.”
    “Did you notice they way she looked at him when he dropped his glass?”

    You manage to say so much with so little words! It is very powerful. Another fantastic post. Keep them coming!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

