4:47am – Inspiration Monday XXX (Drabble)

This week I had a hard time choosing a prompt for Inspiration Monday XXX. There were so many good options. But I finally decided on one. Please be sure to check out the famous InMon contributions of the fantastic writers that participate there. This is a drabble.

4:47am

There’s a clock on the wall.
4:47am.
My father’s hands shake. Half the whiskey ends up on the table. His sunken eyes look at the mess. I wonder what he sees.
I see an old man. His gown is old too. It’s large and gray and droops. Like the skin beneath it. Like his once powerful shoulders.
He’ll not look at me now. At last he feels remorse for all those years. Lost.
The ambulance arrives for Mom’s body.
I want to reach for him. Catch his fall. To tell him I love him. Some things are better left unsaid.

10 thoughts on “4:47am – Inspiration Monday XXX (Drabble)

  1. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: patchwork people - bekindrewrite

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: patchwork people « BeKindRewrite

  3. Pingback: An Experiment | Scribbla

  4. Carl

    There is a perfection to the balance of all of the details here. It is a wonderful piece. The power of years of hurt can accumulate in a single room during a single moment. I will confess that I don’t like the last sentence – It’s better left unsaid. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

