Ship of Fools – Sunday Picture Press: Travelations

Once again, Indigo Spider has provided us with a fabulous picture prompt and twist. I looked long and hard at the pics, and almost came up blank. And then the one I least expected spoke to me. Here are the three pics and the twists: Sunday Picture Press: Travelations. The piece is written as a drabble (an added challenge to myself) and is fairly experimental. Thank you Indigo for your continued inspiration:

Ship of Fools
“Let go of it, Elizabeth,” said Janet.
“I can’t,” said Elizabeth.
“Why not?”
“I’m scared.”
Janet looked at her younger sister. The two of them stood knee-deep in water with the bottoms of their dresses tucked into their panties.
“I’m also afraid,” Janet said. “Let it go.”
Elizabeth pinched the sails of the model boat tighter between her little fingers.
“You do remember what he said, don’t you?” Janet asked.
“Yes,” Elizabeth whispered loosening her grip. “Write your dreams on pieces of paper. Hide them in the boat. Then set the boat to sail into the unknown.”
“Let go, Elizabeth.”

19 thoughts on “Ship of Fools – Sunday Picture Press: Travelations

  1. Pingback: Sunday Picture Press: Twistless | Indigo Spider

  2. Pink Woods

    Oh my! I love this. Very short, but there’s something that will make you ‘ohh!’ at the end!

    “Write your dreams on pieces of paper. Hide them in the boat. Then set the boat to sail into the unknown.” – I love this line! 🙂

    What great with this story is that it is has a little structure, not much is said, and ambiguous, and because of that people could project their own interpretations with it, and the story in a way give some kind of a revelation!

    Reply
  3. Mike

    A great drabble.
    Your words fit perfectly with the picture prompt.
    I thought it was very clever the way you introduced this third mystery character just with the word ‘he’.
    Another great read. Thanks.

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Thanks for more great questions.
      This story works on several levels (for me, anyway). I don’t expect the reader to enter the same space as I do. That’s why I refer to the piece as experimental. It means there’s plenty of room for it to bomb! And I don’t have to call it arty, lol.

      Anyway, yes. The reason it is a ship of fools is because they are letting go of their dreams. There comes a time in every young person’s life when they become aware that their friends have changed. They do not indulge childish things anymore. And then, that young person needs to let go of their childish things so that they can grow up. Only, too often those childish things are dreams. Dreams that are called foolish, but that are integral to our being and come back waaaaaaaaay later in life to remind us of who we are and what we should be doing. If we continue to ignore them, they become nightmares. If we follow them, we become wise.
      What I really envisioned though, was Elizabeth’s instinctual knowledge that ‘he’ threatened their innocence and that they were protecting their dreams, preserving their dreams by setting them to sail. And that Elizabeth hoped and believed they would find their dreams again one day, safe at sea. ‘He’ represents the generic yang energy in the universe that pushes against dreams and intuition, against illogic, childishness, fun, chaos, femininity, creativity.

      Okay, that’s messed up. This comment is longer than the actual piece. Oh well.
      Ok

      Reply
      1. Indigo Spider

        Oddly, I got all this from the story without you having to explain it. Does that mean I’m perceptive or we share head space? LOL

        Reply
      2. Kay Camden

        To send dreams away from you, to keep them safe, to be found later… I just love that.
        It’s kind of what we do, isn’t it? As we grow? Older people reconnecting with parts of their lives they gave up when the started to “grow up”, be it a hobby, a philosophy, whatever became unrealistic when they turned from child to adult, got a “real life” and a “real job”.

        I see my children growing. They are so innocent now, so pure. They know what they know, unaffected by pressures of others, society, etc. Children know how to sing, to dance, to enjoy life, to run through a sprinkler stark naked and squealing in delight without a care in the world, and it’s something they’ll lose, and it makes me so sad. I want their minds to be free like this forever.

        Maybe not running through sprinklers naked as adults, but you know what I mean.

        Reply
      3. Pink Woods

        It’s funny how your interpretation for your story could be another post. 🙂

        “Only, too often those childish things are dreams. Dreams that are called foolish, but that are integral to our being and come back waaaaaaaaay later in life to remind us of who we are and what we should be doing. If we continue to ignore them, they become nightmares. If we follow them, we become wise.”

        Your words are like quotes. I have to take note of it, and put them in my quotes-bank! 🙂

        Reply
  4. Evelyn

    this is def the one I was thinking wouldnt speak to you.
    I barely looked at it, Im such a snob about sappy scenes.
    but this is really positive. enough to make me ashamed.
    such a good writer, you…

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Yeah, it’s interesting that. When I looked at the pics, my immediate response to this particular one was “no way I’m using that one”. And also because I’m a snob about sappy scenes, lol. But the funny thing is that I couldn’t think out of the cliche box when looking at the other two pics. And it was precisely because I wouldn’t usually look twice at a pic like this that I returned to it. Weird, eh?
      Thanks for the read and for your thoughts.

      Reply
      1. Indigo Spider

        Hmmm… I normally hate sappy as well. I don’t believe everything has to have a happy ending. Sentimentalism makes me nuts. But, having said that, and read both your and Evelyn’s comments, I might just have to make a challenge out of that! Sometimes stepping out of the box and forcing a different type of writing can yield amazing things. Not necessarily for the piece at the moment but for future stuff. So, you two have been warned 😉

        Reply
  5. valbrussell

    This is profound scribbla. Letting our dreams go out into the unknown, on a vessel of our own design is very scary. Hmm, sort of like sending out a manuscript to an agent or editor or perhaps a story or poem on a blog. 😉 As always, your writing is sterling.

    Reply
  6. scribbla Post author

    Thanks for the feedback. I was personally happy with the piece.
    I read that men should not try and fill the 1st person headspace of women when writing. I agree – even more so when it comes to young girls. I was tempted to try the whole 1st person thing (despite knowing it is a bad idea), but decided it was actually a lazy cheat and so pushed myself into some other space. Glad I did. Thanks for the prompts.

    Reply
  7. Indigo Spider

    Oooh, I like this! It is different than your usual but still fantastic. Simple but so many possibilities and images spring to mind. I enjoyed this, thanks Scribbla.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

