Day Off

Every now and again I am reminded of the idiocracy we live in.
Today was a reminder day.
I feel disillusioned this evening and am not inspired to create.
I don’t really want to harp on. I don’t believe this is the place to do it.
Whenever I lose faith, I seek inspiration from those who let themselves go to the spirits of their true selves in the hope that one day I can do the same as them (and as fearlessly as they).
So I leave you with three music videos of the people who remind me that not everyone is ignorant; that there is hope for us.

Paulo Nutini – No Other Way

Damien Rice – I Remember

Radiohead – All I need (Live from the Basement)

18 thoughts on “Day Off

  1. sparrowsong

    Anyone with eyes to see can tell there’s a lot not right here. All we can do, sometimes, is pour as much right into it as we can and hope it’ll be okay.

    Reply
  2. Madison Woods

    For the most part I walk around with a rose-colored bubble around me. It’s the only way I can stay optimistic. So *here*. You can borrow my rose-colored glasses for a little while.

    Reply
  3. Dave "Noobcake" Farmer

    Ugh, I hate that disillusioned feeling when it creeps up on me, there’s a lifelessness that is hard to combat. I feel compelled write but there are times when I sit here and even though I have a ton of ideas I just don’t feel the spark or rush or whatever “it” is to create, just as you said. Enjoy the lows because they make you appreciate those maginificnet highs where everything comes together.

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Funny thing is, when I get pissed off and upset I REALLY feel like writing. Only I know from past experience that the writing is seriously destructive because I only try to justify my feelings instead of examining them. So I lay off the writing, and the soap box and just absorb the experience. I believe that by allowing it to simmer in my being without getting overwhelming I can turn those feelings into powerful moments in stories where they are relevant. I get irritated by preachy, self justification writings, so I really, really want to try and avoid doing it myself if I can.
      Thanks for your thoughts Dave. I promise to read more of your incredible work and comment on it soon. You, too, are most inspiring.

      Reply
  4. HaplessDad

    Gutted for you mate. I hate days like that. BUT, embrace it, allow yourself to enjoy it if you can and things will improve for sure!!

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Thank you. There are big lessons to learn from such experiences. You are correct when you say I should embrace it.

      Reply
  5. Kay Camden

    Damien Rice!! Wow, Scribbla. Damien Rice’s music is very personal to me on THIS EXACT DAY. August 3rd. I can’t listen to him without crying because of this day in ’03. Thank you for this. How did you know?

    I’m sorry this day is hard for you, too, for whatever reason. I hope you find comfort in your day off.

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Oh shit! Hope I didn’t make you cry on this day.
      Thanks for your support. I guess Mr. Rice speaks to us all in myserious ways 🙂

      Reply
  6. Indigo Spider

    I have not heard of Paolo Nutini either so thank you for that introduction. I, too, wish I could be as fearless as they so I understand that aspect.
    I also think we’ve all been disillusioned at some time or another and all I can say is, don’t let them win and beat you down. Obviously I don’t know all that is going on, the background doesn’t matter, but instead use that disillusionment, that anger, that hurt, that whatever it is you feel at the moment and use it in the future to create those fearless moments like the artists you have posted here (and many others).
    I am sure they have all been there at some point as well otherwise we wouldn’t be able to identify so well when we need to listen to kindred spirits.

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Thanks Indigo for your words. You hit the nail on the head with your last sentence there. I think it is because they are unafraid to take the sum of their expriences and share them so fully that we are kindered spirits, and that is why I trust to turn to them for inspiration.

      Reply
  7. valbrusselll

    Some Joni Mitchell lyrics from ‘The last time I saw Richard’ for a day such as this Scribbla:

    I’m gonna blow this damn candle out
    I don’t want nobody comin’ over to my table
    I got nothin’ to talk to anybody about
    All good dreamers pass this way someday
    Hidin’ behind bottles in dark cafés
    Dark cafés
    Only a dark cocoon before I get my gorgeous wings
    And fly away
    Only a phase
    These dark cafe days…

    P.S. Radiohead is beyond wonderful and thank you for the introduction to someone new, Paolo Nutini.

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Thank you Val. I appreciate the lyrics – they are something I can associate with very personally.
      Hope you enjoy Paolo. He is very enigmatic, but brilliant.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

