Double Helix – Short Story Part III

If you’d like to catch up with Part I or Part II please click on them and do so. For the rest, here’s Part III:

I look at the photograph again. Something is not right.
“Wait a minute,” I say. “I don’t own a car.”
“Precisely,” Lyle winks at me. He strokes his moustache. The squat guy, arms crossed, rocks in his chair and smiles.
“That’s not me?” I ask.
“No, it’s not,” Lyle says.
“Then who is it?” I ask.
“Ahhhhhh…” Lyle says.
“Careful now. Delicately does it nicely,” the squat guy chuckles.
“Erm. Jerry, are you aware of being adopted?” Lyle starts.
“Yes,” I say.
“Well, turns out you have a brother. A twin, to be exact.”
“That’s my brother?”
“Yep. And our employer would like to find him. With your help, of course.”
“But how? Why? I have a brother? Where is he? What’s his name?”
“Jerry, you really need to focus on what Lyle is saying to you,” the squat guy tells me.
“Uh-huh,” I nod and look at Lyle.

22 thoughts on “Double Helix – Short Story Part III

  1. Pingback: Double Helix Part XII | Scribbla

  2. Pingback: Double Helix – Short Story Part XI | Scribbla

  3. Pingback: Double Helix – Short Story Part X | Scribbla

  4. Pingback: Double Helix – Short Story Part IX | Scribbla

  5. Pingback: Double Helix – Short Story Parts VII & VIII | Scribbla

  6. Pingback: Double Helix – Short Story Parts V & VI | Scribbla

  7. Pingback: Double Helix – Short Story Part IV | Scribbla

  8. IndigoSage

    *Smiling* I’ve read each part up to here and find myself wanting more. Your writing leaves a wonderful imagery to carry the story along. (Hugs)Indigo

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Nah – this one is a work in progress. I know where I want to take it, but my working life seems to intefere with my writing life just a tad too much for me to crank it out quickly.

      Reply
  9. Dave "Noobcake" Farmer

    But why do they want to find him? And how can Jerry help them do this? Aww, now I have to wait ages and ages to find out more! Your quick style moves the story along at a brisk pace, the dialogue is sharp and contains right amount of detail to give each character their own identity. Looking forward to the next part!

    Reply
    1. scribbla Post author

      Thanks Dave. I really appreciate your comments, considering what an amazing wordsmith you are. Glad you are enjoying the story and am enjoying writing it.

      Reply
  10. Evelyn

    I really like your new profile picture, by the way…
    thank you for teasing and also producing!
    more please 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

