Shrink Wrap

“There’s a dead snake on the road. It’s in a desert. There’s a lone hill a few miles on. The hill is burning even though it’s made of rocks. The road ends there. At the bottom of that burning hill. A woman in a blue dress does push-ups on the side of the road behind me. She counts in a foreign language. I cannot understand her, but I know she counts. I cannot see what she looks like because her dark hair drapes her face. Sweat sheens her arms, her legs and her back. She moves steadily. Up, down, up, down. Counting. The road continues beyond her to the horizon. We are in a desert. Did I say that already? Yes, I did. What does it mean, Doc?”
“What do you think it means?”
“Are you kidding me? If I knew the answer to that, would I be here?”
“What are you doing? In the scene, I mean.”
“I’m standing in the road wondering how the fuck I got there. I’m also wondering why I’m there. Where should I be going? Backwards? Forwards? I don’t know. Then I realise I’m naked and aroused. I try talk to the woman in the blue dress over my shoulder, but she never responds. Up. Down. Up. Down. Counting. Sweating. I eyeball that snake in the middle of the road. I’m scared he’s not dead. He looks poisonous. I’m afraid that if I move toward it, it’ll bite me. Bite me right on the dick. So I stand there, on a road in the middle of the desert, buck naked, with a boner, and no clue what’s going on or where to go. Any ideas yet, Doc?”
“Yeah. You’re a lunatic.”
“Huh? Are you even allowed to say that?”
“Yeah, I can. Who’d want to read that shit? Seriously. Why don’t you just let it go and find another storyline. And quit trying to get your ideas out of me, okay?”

9 thoughts on “Shrink Wrap

    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Hahaha. No, it is not autobiographical. I cannot afford a shrink 😉
      As for the title: I was playing with words. A bit lame, maybe. Shrink was for psychologist, and Wrap because we expect to wrap up our problems and package them neatly. I was also making an indirect pun on ‘rap’, as in ‘to talk’. Like I said, perhaps a bit lame. Still, thanks for the read and comment. I always do appreciate it.

      Reply
  1. Indigo Spider

    Hahaha!! Love it. I was about to shut down the computer when your tweet popped up and I’m glad I read before signing off. Thanks Andrew!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

