The Devil Made Us Do It (Part IV of IV)

This is the 4th and final installment of my short screenplay. Comments and criticism are most welcome. I apologize for incorrect formatting in the transition from screenplay software to WordPress.

INT. WAREHOUSE – NIGHT
MR. SHIKONGO is bound to a chair in the centre of a large, empty warehouse. MAGGIE stands behind and to the left of NICK. She watches Mr. Shikongo carefully, hoping for a chance to hit him. JOHANNES is to Nick’s right. His arms are folded and he chews his nails while nervously looking from Nick to Mr. Shikongo and back.

MR. SHIKONGO
(To Nick)
I know you from somewhere. Do I owe you money?

NICK
Nooooooo.

MR. SHIKONGO
Then why do you have me tied to this chair?

NICK
(Grandstanding)
Because, my old friend, moments from now I’ll completely remove your ability to remember. Victory is mine.

MR. SHIKONGO
I owe you money, don’t I?

MAGGIE
Are you sure we got the right guy?

Nick turns to her and glares.

MAGGIE (CONT’D)
Just asking.

JOHANNES
Hey, Nick, can I go now? I don’t feel comfortable with this.

NICK
No. You stay here till I’m finished.

JOHANNES
But you don’t need me anymore, man.

NICK
Maggie, keep a close eye on this one. Make sure he doesn’t go anywhere until I’m done here. I think he wants to call the cops on us, eh?

Maggie curls her fingers into fists and shuffles closer to Johannes, who slumps his shoulders and drops his head, shaking it side to side.

NICK (CONT’D)
Hey, old man! It doesn’t seem right that you can’t remember me in my hour of glory. So you know what? I’m going to give you your memory back just for a short time so that you will know who your master is. I wanna see that look in your eyes.

MR. SHIKONGO
(Grinning at Nick)
I knew your wife, didn’t I?

Nick ignores the question. Instead, he raises his hands and mutters some unintelligible words to himself. Balls of light start to radiate from his palms, growing brighter until they illuminate the warehouse. Then there is a brief flash of darkness, like a power dip.

MONTAGE
– MR. SHIKONGO is tied to a chair in a hotel room. NICK stands in front of him.
MR. SHIKONGO
Why do you have me tied to a chair? Who are you?
– Mr. Shikongo is tied to pillar in a barn. Nick stands in front of him
MR. SHIKONGO (CONT’D)
Why do you have me tied up?
– Mr. Shikongo is tied to a tree. Nick stands in front of him.
MR. SHIKONGO (CONT’D)
Look, we’ve been through this plenty of times before. It’s not working.
– Mr. Shikongo’s feet and wrists are tied to pegs in the ground. Nick stands over him.
MR. SHIKONGO (CONT’D)
You want to do what?
NICK
(Smiling diabolically)
Remove your ability to remember.

INT. WAREHOUSE – NIGHT
MR. SHIKONGO, whose eyes are clear and obviously has his full memory returned, looks at NICK.

MR. SHIKONGO
You.

NICK
Welcome back.

There is another flash of darkness.
INT. BEDROOM/MAGGIE’S CHILDHOOD HOME – NIGHT
MAGGIE is twelve years old. She huddles in fear with her FOUR BROTHERS in their shared bedroom at home. The door is closed and they listen as their FATHER beats their MOTHER from somewhere on the other side.

MAGGIE
(Whispers)
I’m running away.

ALBERT
No. You’re not.

JO
Take me with.

SAM
Me too.

RICHARD
And me.

MAGGIE
I’m leaving, and I’m not taking any of you with me. I hate you. I hate all of you.

Maggie jumps up and sprints to the bedroom door. Her brothers stay where they are, each frozen by their own shock and fear. Maggie opens the door slowly, carefully, then runs past her parents who continue to fight without noticing her. She leaves the house through the front door and disappears into the dark of night.
INT. WAREHOUSE – NIGHT
Tears well up in MAGGIE’S eyes. She speaks to the ghosts in her memory.

MAGGIE
I’m sorry. I should’ve been there for you all. But I was scared. And selfish. And so I ran.

NICK hears her mumbling behind her, but can’t make out what she says. He is irritated.

NICK
(Over his shoulder)
What?

There is another flash of darkness.
INT. JOHANNES’S BEDROOM – DAY
JOHANNES stands naked in his bedroom and stares at himself in the mirror for a long time. Nothing happens. He glances away and when he looks back at himself, wills something to happen. Nothing does.
He grabs a lamp off the night table next to his bed and throws it at the image of himself in the mirror. Then he stands and stares at himself again.
Nothing happens. Nothing changes. He realises that the change must come from inside of himself, and that it will not magically happen from the outside.
INT. WAREHOUSE – NIGHT
JOHANNES blinks. He looks at MAGGIE, who cries quietly next to him. He looks past NICK at MR. SHIKONGO tied to the chair. Mr. Shikongo is radiant and present. He smiles at Johannes and nods. Nick notices the interaction and turns to Johannes.

NICK
(To Johannes)
What was that?

He sees Maggie crying.

NICK
(To Maggie)
What the fuck’s the matter with you?

JOHANNES
Leave her alone.

Nick is upset by Johannes’s cockiness, so slaps him. He then moves threateningly towards Maggie. Johannes recovers quickly from the slap and pushes Nick away just as he reaches Maggie.

JOHANNES (CONT’D)
I’m not afraid of you. You’re not the Devil. You’re a sad old man and I don’t need you to make me somebody. I can choose be somebody on my own anytime I want. Fuck all this, I’m outta here.

Nick stays still, does not panic. Instead he issues Maggie an order.

NICK
Maggie, fetch him and hurt him, please.

MAGGIE
No.

Nick is caught unawares.

NICK
What?

MAGGIE
I said no. This time I’m fighting for what’s right, not just for me.

Nick raises a hand to strike Maggie. She kicks him in the stomach and he drops to one knee. Maggie steps in to smack his head off, but Nick is up quickly and smashes with an elbow to her face. She reels backward and recovers quickly herself. Enraged, she charges him.
Nick lifts his hands and they light up. A bolt leaps from them into Maggie. She drops to the ground, motionless.
Nick turns to Johannes. He raises his hands and they light up. Boom!
Nick is sent sprawling. Johannes looks around to see what happened. Mr. Shikongo stands in front of the chair, freed. He glances at Johannes then walks to where Maggie lies. Johannes joins him.
They both kneel over her. Mr. Shikongo lifts her head and places a hand over her eyes. He looks to the heavens. A gust of wind blows over them. When he removes his hand from her face, Maggie’s eyes open. She smiles.

MR. SHIKONGO AND JOHANNES
Welcome back.

INT. MR. SHIKONGO’S BEDROOM – DAY
MR. SHIKONGO, JOHANNES and MAGGIE sit next to each other on Mr. Shikongo’s bed in his room at the old age home. They look out the window at the folk from the home going about their outdoor daily business; walking the circuit, sitting on benches, chatting.

JOHANNES
I wonder what he’s up to right now?

MR. SHIKONGO
Oh, really?

They all laugh.

MAGGIE
I need to get back to work.

JOHANNES
And I gotta get home.

MR. SHIKONGO
See you later.

Maggie and Johannes leave the room and walk down the corridor. When they reach the reception desk, Maggie takes up her position behind it.

MAGGIE
No way he’s getting in here. Later.

JOHANNES
Later.

EXT. SIDEWALK – DAY
JOHANNES walks out of the home’s entrance and almost bumps into a SCRUFFY HOMELESS MAN wearing a handwritten cardboard sign around his neck that reads THE END IS NIGH!

SCRUFFY MAN
You, sir. Do you feel alone in this world? Are you tired of not making a difference? Do you want change?

Johannes stops to look at the man, smiling.

JOHANNES
It’s too late for that. I’ve already done what I needed to do.

Johannes hands the man some cash and disappears into the crowd on the sidewalk.
INT. NICK’S OFFICE – DAY

NICK
(Enthusiastically)
You have been chosen!

NICK gets up from his chair and walks to the other side of his desk. In his hand is a slim, long knife. He kneels in front of an OLD LADY in a wheelchair. She does not move. She does not look at him.

NICK (CONT’D)
Here.

Nick slips the knife under the blanket draped across her lap and pats it. He gets up and walks back to his seat.

NICK (CONT’D)
(Over his shoulder)
Nurse!

4 thoughts on “The Devil Made Us Do It (Part IV of IV)

  1. ladynimue

    You never know , this might real turn up places it deserve 🙂 I liked reading this .. sorry for the delay .. been offline for long !

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on the script. I doubt it will ever see the screen, but that doesn’t matter at this point. Right now I’m just trying to figure out how to write.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

