Six beers and counting

True love waits. What else is it going to do? ‘Cause that’s the thing about myths, isn’t it? If they came true, then we’d no longer believe in them. If true love arrived, then we couldn’t say that true love waits, Sparky said.
I never thought of it like that. Come to think of it, I never thought about it, Nigel said.
And that, my boy, is a conundrum. Do you know what a conundrum is, Nigel?
Yeah, if true love arrived then you couldn’t say true love waits.
No.
But you just said…
What I’m asking, Nigel, is do you know what the word conundrum means? I take your silence to signify that you don’t, so let me enlighten you. A conundrum is a koan. A Japanese mindfuck to illustrate just how useless logical reasoning is. Got it?
Yeah, Sparky, I got it.
If you say you got it, then that means you didn’t get it. Because here’s the real question. How can anyone know true love if it never arrives?
Well, what if true love doesn’t wait?
Exactly.
Exactly what?
Exactly.
I don’t understand.
Exactly.
Are you saying true love doesn’t wait.
No.
Then what the fuck are you saying, Sparky? You’re full of shit, you know that?
What I’m saying Nigel, is that if it’s true love, there’s no way to understand. Got it?
No.
Then it’s true love.

21 thoughts on “Six beers and counting

  1. jeremythurston

    Do not stand at my grave & weep;
    I am not there. I do not sleep.
    I am a thousand winds that blow.
    I am the diamond glints on snow.
    I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
    I am the gentle autumn rain.
    When you awaken in the morning’s hush,
    I am the swift uplifting rush
    of quiet birds in circled flight .
    I am the stars that shine at night.
    Do not stand at my grave & cry;
    I am not there. I did not die..

    Reply
  2. Team Oyeniyi

    Thank goodness it wasn’t 8 beers, it would have been REALLY confusing. This sounds like dialogue Drew could use in his musical!

    Of course we can say both! True love waits to be found. Once it is found, there we have it. But it continues waiting for the next person, those who haven’t found it yet. Not at all confusing.

    Trust a few drunken men to make it complicated – that is how wars start, you know – world leaders at some darn conference have a few too many in the bar, the next thing: KA-BOOM!

    Reply
  3. Carl

    I love this because people tell me I’m full of shit all of the time, but I never understand.

    Wonderful write!

    Reply
  4. jeremythurston

    Hm.. That sounds like me with a sugar rush! So scribbla, does this reflect your beliefs, if so let me ask you a question. Is love worth waiting for? Heh. Once again im up at two in the morning writing posts and reading them. Always make an effort to check out your blog every time I’m on. And find an outlet, and bekind. So speaking about writing posts, I just tried my hand at some horror and wonder what you think. Im proud of it, but dont hold back any punches. Its not original I know but its practice. thanks.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thanks for your kind words Jeremy. I really appreciate your daily visits and insights. Really. I’ll pop by your blog and give your piece a read and leave some words.

      Reply
  5. Evelyn

    HA!!! Val said “cosmic mind fucker”!

    I think this makes total sense.
    Its real if we have no idea what the fuck we are doing.
    thats some truth, right there.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      HA!!! Val said “cosmic mind fucker”! Now that had me laughing my ass of out loud. Marvelous.
      And the first person who says they know what they are doing… well.

      Reply
  6. Val

    You know what scribbla? I think you may have a future in politics. 😉 I think it means that love is some head trip conundrum koan that has not one thing to do with logic because that whole true love thing is actually a type of insanity and as we know, insanity makes no sense. A little cosmic mind fuckery to keep us from figuring out the meaning of life, which of course is true love! lol

    Reply
  7. Madison Woods

    I don’t think I get it, but I liked it 🙂 It was an amusing exchange between the two of them, though.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      I wrote it and I don’t think I get it. I got it when I wrote it, of course, but now that I’m reading it I don’t get it. Glad you could enjoy it though.

      Reply
  8. Indigo Spider

    I like it. I’m confused. I get it. I don’t get it. I like it still. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

