A Name, A Game – Drabble

“When was the last time you did anything crazy?” Zak asked.
“It’s been a while,” Shaun laughed.
“Remember the holiday we ran away?”
“Hell, yeah. I think about that more and more these days.”
“Me too.”
“What happened to us?” Shaun turned to his friend urgently, pleading.
Zak sipped his beer, said nothing. Just stared out at the gray sky.
“Tomorrow. Let’s go,” Shaun said.
Zak smiled.
“I’m dying man. I gotta do something.”
“Me too. Me too,” Zak nodded.
“Daddy?”
Startled, both men turned to Shaden.
“Yeah,” Zak said.
“Can Philip and me go play outside?”
“No, it’s raining.”

26 thoughts on “A Name, A Game – Drabble

  1. Mike

    A great story.
    The dialogue worked really well & I could picture the two men drinking beer, yearning for some excitement.
    To me this short piece of writing allows the reader to draw all sorts of conclusions – for me I could see the two men wishing they were young again, keen to go on just one more adventure – then reality steps in and they stop the children going outside because it’s ‘raining’. I wonder how many parents secretly want excitement and adventure but are scared to let their children play and explore?

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Hi Mike. Your last question was very strongly on my mind as I wrote the piece. As a parent myself, it is a question I constantly have to ask myself. Where does one draw the line between discipline and adventure and common sense and all that other stuff? I don’t always know.
      Thank you for your great, insightful comments. Much appreciated.

      Reply
  2. Carl

    Wonderful exploration. Perhaps we box ourselves in, but we have to find the adventure within the box because there can be wonder within the box. No matter how I age, I have this childish longing to serve myself up an adventure that’s just for me.

    Reply
  3. jeremythurston

    Hey, good job. I posted two posts i call Way of the Samurai. There are two posts and in each I use a different style to write the combat sequences. I would love to see which ones you prefer, and why, such input from such an inspirational writer like you would be invaluable to me.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Haha. I could almost agree with you, but realized a little while ago that you don’t run away from something, but rather you run towards something else. If you know what I mean.

      Reply
  4. jeremythurston

    Wow, I’m sitting here thinking, no wracking my brain around what to say to that post. All I think that’s worthy of this touching work is, good job scribbla. You are an inspiration to me.

    Reply
  5. Val

    Personally, I can think of nothing more crazy, risky, scary or adventurous than having a child and raising it. If being responsible for another human life doesn’t scare the snot out of you and give you the rush of adrenalin daily, nothing will. That’s what I derived from this anyway, seeing as parental terror and I are very well acquainted.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Hi Val – glad to see you popped by again. Thanks for reading and commenting. I couldn’t agree more with you. Which is precisely why I hoped to infer (albeit very indirectly) that these old geezers weren’t going anywhere if it meant leaving their children. And I have to agree that raising kids is a frightening experience – daily.

      Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I always appreciate it from you.
      Yeah – I think that even though we gain degrees of wisdom as we get older (ahem!) there are some impulses that just never go away. I frequently wonder what kinds of things we would do as older people if there weren’t the consequences that there are.

      Reply
      1. Team Oyeniyi

        Gain degrees of wisdom as we get older, you say? Would you put me down as “wise” given my adventures, do you think? *Grin* One of the things that happens as we get older is we tend to no longer care so much about the consequences, simply because we figure we could be dead in a few years, so what the hell – enjoy life!

        Reply
  6. Indigo Spider

    Liked this story. Says so much in such a short form. Dialogue is one of those things I have trouble with but you obviously don’t since this flows very naturally and unfolds the story well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

