Departed – Drabble

“I never liked you, you know?” she says.
“I know. It’s okay,” I say.
We sit next to each other on a wooden bed frame and avoid eye contact.
The bare room’s content is packed in boxes on the porch.
“It’s not your fault,” she says.
“I know.”
The doorbell rings. She jumps up and turns to look at me.
“Bye,” she says pecks me on the cheek.
“Bye.”
Moments later I hear the front door open.
She greets her father.
I never made a good stepdad.
Still, I am going to sorely miss a wife, and she a mother.

18 thoughts on “Departed – Drabble

  1. Indigo Spider

    OK, I must have a truly strange mind because the first time I read it I thought the step-father was having an affair with the step-daughter, hence the mother leaving them both. Then, in a re-read I thought perhaps the “step-father” was actually another woman, as in a lesbian couple, and that is why she would miss a wife and the daughter a mother. Yeah, my mind works in mysterious ways, I admit!

    I like the story, lots to think about, and I like the open ending to allow my mind to go to strange conclusions.

    Reply
  2. mrasherkade

    Interesting….I must agree with Mike. So many people I am sure can relate to this. I love how you can just pick up a pen and write. I am always too hard on myself to do that sort of thing. Right now, my step-family, step-mess, whatever the hell it is really sucks. So, I truly enjoyed this post. I wondered why I haven’t heard from you. Hope whatever you have that it goes away soon!

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thanks Asher. I really don’t think that many people apprciate how messy and tricky step-families are. I have absolutely no answers or wisdom when it comes to that kind of territory. Pity, really.

      Reply
  3. Mike

    A great little story.
    Seemed to me like a poignant snapshot of a moment in time.
    It painted a strong picture in my head of two people sitting on boxes just waiting. I didn’t need to know who the mother was, why she left, why he was such a lousy step-dad. You gave me all the information I needed for that moment in time.
    Thanks.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Glad you enjoyed it. Yeah, I had that sense of waiting while writing it. Sometimes waiting can be a very difficult experience for two people to endure.

      Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you very much for taking the time to read and comment on this piece. I really appreciate it very much. I’m glad that you could enjoy it.

      Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. I always find it very interesting how and what others read into the pieces. That is why I enjoy leaving so much open to the reader’s own interpretation.

      Reply
  4. Madison Woods

    Pulled my heartstrings. I’ve been on both sides of the step-family issue. My son didn’t accept my husband as his step-father and his children didn’t accept me as step-mother.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      It can be really tough. Someone better qualified on me should write a self-help book on this. It is really scary territory for all involved.

      Reply
    2. screen_scribbla Post author

      It can be really tough. Someone better qualified than me should write a self-help book on this. It is really scary territory for all involved.

      Reply
  5. jeremythurston

    I laughed when I read this post, I dont like my stepfather either. Actually, you could say I strongly dislike him. but he never tried, he had an attitude that kept us all away from him. Good work scribbla.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Glad it could make you laugh! Thanks for your comment. It’s always good to get personal feedback on how my writing resonates in others own experiences.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

