March 14, 2011 – Drabble

You came to us from the forest. Why? We were afraid. We treated you badly. You knew we would.
That was one year ago. Late last night, when everyone was asleep you came to me. Why? You said you were leaving when the sun next set. You want me to go with you. Why? Am I the only one you have asked? Why?
I am afraid to go away from here. Why? We all are. You know that. We no longer treat you badly. We all love you now. But do you love us back? Or is this your revenge?

12 thoughts on “March 14, 2011 – Drabble

  1. screen_scribbla Post author

    Kay, like you said, it’s hard to say one likes Antichrist. But, like you say, that doesn’t make it a crap movie. Quite the opposite in fact. Like some art does, it causes uneasy feelings to arise. Generally we don’t like uneasy feelings, but that is not to say that they are wrong or inappropriate or incorrect. Sometimes going to a place of discomfort can teach us to value things again. If the filmaker can take you on a journey, they have done there job. I know that there was a strong reaction against the movie. That’s fine. There was to Dogville too! One man’s meat is another man’s poison and so forth.

    Reply
  2. Kay Camden

    You shouldn’t have treated this newcomer badly. This newcomer has family. Not so nice family. A family any decent person would escape from. Yet, your world couldn’t offer escape. Your world only proved how important family ties are. Revenge? In your world maybe. In another, it would be called repayment. They aren’t so sentimental there.

    Reminds me of the movie Dogville. Awesome movie. Although very drawn out and a bit difficult for some to get through, it has a great payoff at the end.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      See the comment above re Dogville. I thought the movie was a masterpiece – especially the payoff. I’m a bit weird like that though; I enjoy slower thoughtful films, particularly those that explore deeper, darker human characteristics. Lars von Trier is one of my favorite directors, though there are a lot of people who can’t stomach him.

      Anyway, thanks for reading and for your comments. They are very much appreciated.

      Reply
      1. Kay Camden

        You really were inspired by Dogville? That is great, especially since I guessed it! Yes! I rarely catch this type of thing. I’m thrilled.

        Did you see Antichrist? What did you think? I don’t know what I can say about it. I can’t say I liked it because I would never ever watch it again, but I didn’t dislike it. I told all my friends to watch it if that means anything. I always know good movies from bad by how they stick in my mind. It’s all about being effective, I suppose.. affecting people.

        Reply
  3. somethingnewplease

    A lot of questions, without answers, which makes the brain wonder and wondering is a rather healthy pastime.

    I like the idea of a person coming from the forest, appearing suddenly from a secondary world.
    D

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Hmmmmmm… I must admit I was not intentionally obscure, but I don’t think writing this while very tired helped me much. Ah well, the practice is more important than a great story each time.

      Essentially, I guess it’s a bit like Dogville (in reverse – kind of?). Though I didn’t have that in mind when I wrote it. But yeah, basically about a stranger coming to an isolated village and being treated with scepticism at first to the point of violence, but then being accepted. As soon as they are accepted, they choose to leave, with one (or more?) of the villagers, the intent of which is not known. This piece is written from the 1st person perspective of one of the villagers asked to leave with the stranger. The villager would like to go, but is suspicious and afraid.

      Thanks for the read and comment and for letting me know I was not clear enough.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

