Monologue – A Drabble in One Sentence

“I don’t want to be some memory that spontaneously pops up like an apparition during the moments that make up your real life outside of these four walls, a dirty, guilty, private moment you can experience with pride, with smug satisfaction while you are stuck in the morning traffic driving your kids to school, or as you sit in one of your fancy meetings on the eighty-ninth floor making deals that affect lives like mine, or as you lie naked on a bed I will never know sharing a cigarette with your husband after making angry, self-satisfied love to him.”

14 thoughts on “Monologue – A Drabble in One Sentence

  1. Find an Outlet

    I can understand his frustration, but no way can I feel sorry for him. He knew.

    I did appreciate the gender because everybody in the freaking world seems to think it’s only husbands who cheat (as if), and that if someone has a powerful job it must be a man.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Yeah, I find it rather weird how programmed we are to assume that if it involves a high-powered job and affair it must be a man doing it. Times have changed. Anyway, thanks for reading and commenting. Much appreciated as always.

      Reply
  2. Evelyn

    Tricky tricky.
    Had to read again after comments…
    I’m such a fan of brevity. It takes specific skills to do well. And you’ve definitely got them.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you for your kind words. And for the read. I too favor brevity, but felt the urge to stretch a bit this week. Will return to normal soon.

      Reply
  3. Carl

    Good write. Covers the intensity of the emotional battery of these relationships, i think. I am not going to accidentally read it aloud.

    Reply
  4. jeremythurston

    I read this out loud to my girlfriend by accident. You really pulled the wall over my eyes, she thought i was talking to her. it was just plain awkward. Im not mad though, i think its funny, so laugh with me one and all.

    Reply
  5. chesshirecat

    I was surprised to learn the gender of the speaker as well. It plays so darn good! I have to say you have captured the carelessness of extramarital sex and the hurt of the lover left knowing…things will never change. The anger is so real in my mind…business, family, lover, life leaves her angry and self absorbed…I expect to see wreckage further down the road.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on this piece. You summed it up exactly as I intended it to be read. Thank you for that feedback.

      Reply
  6. BlueSkyPoet

    dude! I like this a lot and you totally got me at the end to realize it’s a “she” (or a gay man) that is being spoken to. Sad to say, I assumed the speaker was a woman talking to a man. Excellent sentence.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thanks for reading and commenting – funny thing is that I wrote the whole thing out as a woman speaking, only changing the gender words right at the end just before I uploaded it. So, very well spotted!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

