Train Ride to Work

There was a time in my life, when I was a kid many years ago, I used to feel sorry for sardines squashed together in tin cans, their small bodies devoid of life’s spark, eyes and mouths open in a final horrific scream as their lungs and brains filled with death while they realised the futility of their existence beyond that of food in a chain feeding on itself.
I now pity the millions of people that each day squash into metal tubes rushing like drugs through the arteries of bleak urban desires looking for a high we all know will never come. We are a religion of selfishness, a corporate food chain that consumes human souls until they lose all flavour.
I breathe in the foul, damp air trapped between the armpit of desire and boastfulness, between the loneliness of early morning coffees and late night whiskeys, between the stench of Dior and garbage bags stuffed with the putrefying severed limbs of commercial spoils, and as I exhale while stepping off the train I catch sight of you, my morning glory, my habit, my daily rush of blood, where you sit in trance like a spiritual medium afraid that if you are to acknowledge the ghosts around you they will pounce on you and tear you apart.
And then, in a moment, I am swept away on a dead sea as wave after wave of zombies disembarking the carriage traps me like a sardine and I wish I could raise my eyes to the heavens and let loose a violent scream that has its origin in the depths of hell, because to be torn from you like this is to be a foetus ripped from its mother’s belly, and also to realise the futility of my existence in which I am real, but not seen.

13 thoughts on “Train Ride to Work

  1. Mike

    Wow!
    I really enjoyed this one – a great comparison between the squashed sardines and the squashed humans!
    Like others who have commented I think there are some great lines & the ones quoted above I also enjoyed. One of my favourites – “We are a religion of selfishness…” so accurate and made me think of the varied capitalist Gods that we worship.

    Reply
  2. Find an Outlet

    Is he dead, riding the tube to catch a glimpse of his morning glory?

    This is extremely visual, I read it a couple times just for the ride. But if we are a religion of selfishness, it is what we must do to survive. Every one of us zombies lives in his or her own private hell.

    Excellent.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Ahhhh, geez – why didn’t I think of that. Darn.
      You picked up on the weak link in the story where I ask the reader to suspend their disbelief that he could actually glimpse the same woman in this daily morass. Your explanation is so beautiful. So, although it wasn’t my orignal intent, were I to continue with this piece, he’d definitely be dead. (Funny thing is that I promised myself I’d not have dead people in my writing for at least the first two days this week, lol)
      Yeah, I agree we live in our own private, often silent hell just to survive. Which demands regular acts of selfishness. It’s just that some days it saddens me.
      Thanks for the read, wonderful insight and comments. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Reply
  3. writingsprint

    Years ago, after one too many draining days of riding public transportation for an hour and a half to get to work, I looked at my fellow subway travelers and quietly said “baa.” Sheep. We were all sheep.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Hi there. Haven’t heard from you in a while, so it’s good to hear from you now.
      Yeah, you got my mood completely. “Baa” indeed, but I think if I had gone for that image I would have written a rather comedic version. Thanks for the read and comment.

      Reply
  4. jenna

    “I breathe in the foul, damp air trapped between the armpit of desire and boastfulness, between the loneliness of early morning coffees and late night whiskeys, between the stench of Dior and garbage bags stuffed with the putrefying severed limbs of commercial spoils…”

    I think that this is the part of your post that I am most fond of, though the whole thing sort of blew me away.

    Amazingly brilliant with your descriptions and wordings. I thoroughly enjoyed this.

    PS- By the way, thank you for your comment. It was as inspiring as reading this!

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you very much for your comments and for reading this post. I really appreciate your time and kind words of encouragement and am pleased that you enjoyed the read.
      I hope that you are also inspired to start putting down words of your own. Feel free to post them here if you would like to.

      Reply
  5. Evelyn

    “I breathe in the foul, damp air trapped between the armpit of desire and boastfulness, between the loneliness of early morning coffees and late night whiskeys, between the stench of Dior and garbage bags stuffed with the putrefying severed limbs of commercial spoils”
    Yes! Brilliant description…
    Ewww I can smell it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

