The Case of Jen Jonstone

“Why do we dream?” she asks.
“There are many different theories about why we dream. But I’m interested in why you think we dream. Would you mind telling me?” I ask.
From the corner of my eye I see Jen pretends to think about my question when in fact she is dying to share her thoughts.
“I think it’s God’s way of telling us stuff,” she says.
“Oh, now that sounds very interesting. What kinds of stuff?”
“Like what is good for us and what is bad.”
“You mean like sweeties and vegetables,” I say.
“No. Like when we should be good and when we should be bad to somebody.”
I look up from my doodle.
“Jen, what do you mean by that. I thought God was good and only wanted people to be nice to each other.”
“Yes. Yes that’s true. But sometimes you must also be bad to people.”
“But that doesn’t make sense. It’s two opposite things. And isn’t God all good?”
“Yeah, but sometimes what God wants and what God gets are not the same things.”
I straighten in my chair and look directly at Jen.
“Explain that.”
“Like, God wants you to be a good man, Dr. Jonstone. But you’re not, so bad things must happen to you. Maybe then you will…”
“Now wait a minute. What makes you think I’m a bad man?”
“God talks to me in my dreams. And he tells me what kind of man you are.”
“Really?”
“And he told me exactly all the things you do.”

“Good afternoon. Is that Mrs. Freedland? Yes, this is Dr. Jonstone here. I’m afraid Jen had a little episode in her session with me today, and that I needed to subdue her with a little something.”
I wait. I listen.
“Well, it doesn’t look good, actually. But I’d prefer not to talk about it over the phone. Would you be able to come to the hospital this afternoon?”
I listen to her again.
“Thank you. Rest assured, she is safe for now.”

11 thoughts on “The Case of Jen Jonstone

  1. rashmikamath

    i love it! the creepiness is fantastic!! i love such pieces. i dont know if this is a part of something else or if it is a random one piece article, but whatever it is, it is good!!
    if there is a whole other story to it, then please let me know. i would love to read it!! 🙂

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Glad you liked the piece. It is just a random bit of writing for the day. It does not extend beyond that. If it ever becomes more, I’ll let you know. Thanks again for your words.

      Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I realized that too once I re-read it – about writing this kind of story in the first person. Only then did I see how freaky it was.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

