The Scientist – An Attempted Drabble

The desert’s dark belly sliced by the twin beams of light. It is a yellow Cadillac roaring in pain; afraid. Behind its wheel, Paul. Bespectacled, thinning hair, hunched over the large steering wheel. He whacks the heating controls again. The radio comes alive to the sound of Beethoven. Paul draws a sharp, icy breath that burns his lungs and nearly chokes him. He coughs clouds of condensation. Beads of sweat break out on his forehead. His foot feels cramps tease in protest to the violence with which he presses down on the car’s accelerator. Light flashes. The Cadillac lurches; empty.

12 thoughts on “The Scientist – An Attempted Drabble

  1. Evelyn

    Hmmmm
    I was thinking time travel, like in Back to the Future…
    why Beethoven I wonder…
    “The desert’s dark belly sliced by the twin beams of light. It is a yellow Cadillac roaring in pain; afraid.”
    what an opening line. super jealous of that write.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Haha… sorry to make you jealous. But I must admit that I was quite pleased when that came out. So pleased, I froze up after writing it because I didn’t know how to carry on!
      As for Beethoven – I sent my record player (yes, record player) in for repairs and got it back the day before writing this. The first record I grabbed to play was Beethoven. The record player was not fixed. I guess Beethoven stuck in my mind, even though I didn’t listen to it.

      Reply
  2. Madison Woods

    Going strictly on impulse, I think he disappeared into thin air, maybe abducted by a UFO. Regardless of what happened, it was an interesting read.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you for the read a words.
      Lol – don’t know, but I must admit I quite enjoy the challenge of adhering to a specific structure right now.

      Reply
  3. Jinx

    Cool. I really like the whole thing. It’s a bit confusing but I knew what happened when I read it the first time. The second time through it made more sense.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

