Poetry #2

—– I will be out of town Tuesday to Thursday to film and script a corporate video. I doubt I will be able to upload any scribbles on those days, so have decided to put up some poems I wrote between 2002 and 2004. —–

From son

To mother

My lover

Is not

You

(18 April 2002)

______________________________________________________________

That a single grain of sand,

Carried on the wind

In this desert, could blind you.

(18 May 2002)

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

She said to me:

“We are the sum of our memories and I remember John that’s my real dad hurting my mother and I remember him telling me he loved me after touching me down there I remember he left without saying goodbye when I was five years old I remember trying to protect mom from my stepfather’s drunken rages his fists matching the velocity of his curses I remember him telling me he loved me whenever he made me suck his dick I remember sitting for hours cold and tired in the car with mom while he went in for one quick drink with the boys I remember wondering how she could choose to stay with him instead of running away with me protecting me but all she ever did was say she loved me.”

She said to me:

“We are the sum of our memories and I don’t want to remember anymore especially love.”

(27 May 2002)

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I sat down to write,

But must have misplaced

My

Words,

So I got up to make coffee,

Smoked a cigarette instead.

(25 August 2002)

2 thoughts on “Poetry #2

Leave a Reply

