Poetry #1

—– I will be out of town Tuesday to Thursday to film and script a corporate video. I doubt I will be able to upload any scribbles on those days, so have decided to put up some poems I wrote between 2002 and 2004. —–

This is Africa
Where elderly parents bury their children
With one foot already in the mass grave;
An entire continent going underground
Unaware the enemy is unseen within.

This is Africa
Whose trembling air is filled with the cries of a child;
Cries of hunger for food and hope and love
Long since withered by a senile old drought
With no memory of rain to call upon.

This is Africa
This is my Africa.

(13 January 2001)

________________________________________________________________

Candle in the sand
Lights this page;
The unseen sun
A million stars.
Gentle breeze
On a steady journey;
This desert inhales.
Alone in wonder,
Every motion
Poetry.

(11 February 2002)

________________________________________________________________________________________

Received as many flowers
As I have lovers;
Good thing I don’t
Own any vases.
And I…
I was too afraid
To admit openly
My secret admiration
For you, Valentine.

(14 February 2002)

________________________________________________________________________________________

Unafraid
Of my weaknesses
In your presence
I fall
In Trust

(10 March 2002)

6 thoughts on “Poetry #1

  1. sparrowsong

    “Candle in the sand
    Lights this page;
    The unseen sun
    A million stars.
    Gentle breeze
    On a steady journey;
    This desert inhales.”

    This is such a gorgeous piece. It paints in flashes, and it’s captivating.

    “Received as many flowers
    As I have lovers;
    Good thing I don’t
    Own any vases.”

    This is so beautifully sad and sweet.

    I had no idea you were a poet! You should post more on Friday when you get back. ^^

    Reply
  2. writingsprint

    Great post. I don’t have the guts (or chops) to try poetry, but maybe I will sometime soon. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you very much for taking the time to read and leave a comment. Much appreciated by me. I would very much enjoy it if you gave poetry a go and posted the results.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

