A Tale of Two Islands

I’d seen it all so many times before that I could walk into the scene blindfolded and describe to you what you’d find. First and most obvious would be the domestic disturbance. Depending where the incident took place, would depend on what was laying about where it shouldn’t be. Funnily enough, the bedrooms were always the least fucked up. Go figure. They’re also the least likely place for anything to go down. Couples prefer to argue in the kitchen or dining room. And God knows, there’s always something within reach that will cause some kind of harm. Then there’s the victim. Without fail, beaten way too many times. Nine times out of ten, the woman. And when it’s the guy, most times he’s not dead. The majority of scenes have some kind of cover-up that occurred after the incident, where the guy normally tries to make it all look like it was one big accident. Yeah, sure she fell on the candlestick forty two times all over her body. Happens all the time. Then there’s those goddamn smug perps. Most of them drunk or drugged up losers who think the world, or at least their ladies, owe them something by virtue of their being born. Bitter sons-of-bitches who either argue their innocence with a violence that makes you cringe, or the kind of asshole who’s bawling his eyes out for a lost wife that he didn’t give a shit about when she was alive and full of loving for him. So I walked into the scene this morning with my eyes closed and went through the drill until I realised I hadn’t seen the boyfriend. Fiancé, actually. Must be getting old. Anyway, they lead me out to the back yard and there he is, this good looking dude in his late twenties wearing expensive threads. He looks nervous, but not angry or upset. I walk over to him and introduce myself; tell him I have some questions for him. He tells me he’d be happy to answer them. He wasn’t home when shit went down, so he’s not sure how much help he can be. I snort and look him up and down, and notice for the first time that there’s not a drop of blood on his person. Considering the scene inside, this shakes me up a bit. She’s laying in the bath, barely cold. There’s no way he cleaned up after the act. I immediately know in my gut, this guy didn’t do it.

8 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Islands

  1. AsherKade

    I forgot to mention Weird Al too. I have his hair in a wonderful shade of red….
    🙂
    Stephen King and true crime documentaries will always capture my attention…

    Reply
  2. mrasherkade

    As kind as you are and for making my day, you need to know something. I have a unique writing style that isn’t readily accepted in the literary greats world. I find it not due to lack of talent, which I tout I have some, but because I am a mixture of Robin Williams, Jim Carrey, with added twisted darkness of Alice Cooper. In all of those fine men came many years of having to force the world to accept them, as they were not always popular or widely accepted. Just years ago they may have found it hard to find a seat in a resteraunt. Now, they are greatly received with open arms. It is this superficial-ness that causes me to find acceptance within myself and not that with the world.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Hehehehe… then we are cut from the same cloth! I can fully relate and find myself far more compelled by interestingness than literary greatness and many other so-called beautiful things. For example, I have tried reading the so-called book of the 20th century, James Joyce Ulysess, at least three times. Can’t do it. It’s shit. Same goes for some of the other greats. Not all, but enough for me not to be swayed by titles. No, I’d rather read a piece without knowing the author’s name and decide whether I like it or not based on the writing itself. And I believe that if you have found acceptance of yourself, you are bound to be considerably more interesting than anyone looking for permission from me to be interesting. Thanks for your time and thoughts!

      Reply
  3. AsherKade

    I used to work with child victims of crime as a law enforcement officer, so i agree with sparrow. I have a lot of people who read my blog, and have to say with great humbleness that I have never coe across such a well versed and “word god” such as yourself. Though I don’t know you, and have written books, short stories, and articles for 5 years–professionally anyway, I am barely getting my footing in writing. You have awesome talent. I will be following your blog from now on! (I don’t follow many, so consider that a compliment).

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      First of all, thank you very much for the time you took to read my blog entry. Thank you too for your wonderful response in your capacity as a law enforcement officer. I find it encouraging that I can connect with a readership. I also thank you for your compliments with regard to my writing and for subscribing to my blog. It really does mean a lot to me. Though I must disagree with you on one score – I am no “word god”. I feel I’m only starting to understand the rudimentary aspects of creative writing and have a lot more to learn before I call myself accomplished. I will be sure to visit your blog, as I’m sure that I could learn plenty from you. Thanks again for your time and words.

      Reply
  4. sparrowsong

    Crime novels on the brain? Children in domestic violence cases usually get teddy bears. That’s the image that always sticks in my head. Well, that, and two stories, in particular that I read in a local paper. The first domestic violence-turned-murder incident was between a soldier and his wife and the argument began over him wanting to eat mac and cheese for dinner. The other story involved a woman beating a man to death with a high-heeled shoe. I like the fact that you mentioned a candlestick. It reminds me of Clue.

    Reply
    1. screen_scribbla Post author

      Thank you for reading and commenting at length! Yeah, teddy bears. I’ll need to remember that. Thanks. I guess the inciting incidents in most domestic violence cases are arbitrary, like the mac and cheese case. Partners that have a lot of pent up rage that lose it over something small. Unfortunately there’s way too much violence against women in the country I live in. Shootings, stabbings, burnings… awful.

      Though not consciously done, I had to chuckle to myself about the candlestick thing. Also thought of Clue. Must be the butler!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

